ACEID/ACEDI was incorporated as a non-profit organization in August 2008. The 11 founding member schools are: Algonquin College, Ottawa, ON; British Columbia Institute of Technology, Burnaby, BC; Fanshawe College, London, ON; Humber College, Toronto, ON; Kwantlen Polytechnic University, Richmond, BC; Mount Royal University, Calgary, AB; Ryerson University, Toronto, ON; Sheridan College, Oakville, ON; University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, MB; University of Montreal, Montreal, QC, Vancouver Island University, Nanaimo, BC, Georgian College, Barrie, ON; Lethbride College, Lethbridge, AB; Dawson College, Montreal, QC; Art Institute, Vancouver, BC

The Alliance is a membership of Canadian Interior Design schools with each member school having one vote at each of the two annual meetings. All member schools are invited to attend the spring Board of Directors meeting, held at a Design school in Western Canada and the Annual General Meeting, held in Toronto and coinciding with IIDEX.

Presentations and discussions about innovations, issues, exploration, and directions in design education are organized after the main business meetings. The intent is to have the potential for peer review in these presentations.

A LinkedIn site has been created for the Alliance to provide a forum for discussions and dialogue pertinent to the membership. All faculty, from the member institutions, are welcome to participate.